Why We Write

January 19, 2008

Why We Write – Number 22: Reader Submitted Essay

Number 22

Today’s piece is written by Kristi Castro, Poet. 

 

 

I write because I breathe. 

 

I write because paper is cheap.

 

I write because words wait in my brain.

 

I write because I’ve wanted to be a Beat since age 10.

 

I write because I want to.

 

I write because I can’t bear a blank page.

 

I write because it makes me laugh.

 

I write to make sense of the world.

 

I write because my hands need to move.

 

I write to make people laugh.

 

I write so I can call myself a writer.

 

I write because it is all mine.

 

I write to decide my fate.

 

I write because horses need to fly and the sky isn’t always blue.

 

I write because I was born.  Words are in my blood. 

 

I write when I am confused.

 

I write because it doesn’t cost as much as film or therapy.

 

I write because of loneliness.

 

I write because I know others agree.

 

I write because they don’t.

 

I write because of the wind.

 

I write because the world is heavy.

 

I write because there are no swing sets around.

 

I write because pimento cheese is lumpy.

 

I write because America scares me.

 

I write because somewhere inside of me there is still a tiny ten year old wearing red, white and blue, singing I’m Proud to be an American.

 

I write when I see nothing else.

 

I write because some people do not see the point of writing.

 

I write because a professor once wrote, “I am convinced you are a natural poet.”

 

I write because it is the only thing I can do, so I write.

 

I write because no matter how much I sympathize, I am not on strike, so I write and look to a day when once again, everyone can.  

 

 

WHY WE WRITE is a series of essays by prominent – and not so prominent – TV and Film writers.  Conceived by Charlie Craig and Thania St. John, the campaign hopes to inspire and inform all writers.  If you’d like to comment, or tell us why you write, visit the Why We Write WordPress site or contact us at whywewrite@gmail.com.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

